Hi! Welcome...

My name is Roy Bauer and I love books...I even love reading some of them. And when I do, I post the reviews here. Some of the books I get for free from publishers and some I buy and just post my 2 cents worth. But either way, I will put what I think and you can decide whether the book is worth sinking your hard-earned money into. Enjoy

19 January 2010 ~ 1 Comment

Book Review: Tea With Hezbollah by Ted Dekker and Carl Medearis

clip_image001

Tea With Hezbollah, by Ted Dekker and Carl Medearis, was a book (non-fiction)that stretched me to the limits. The authors set out on a journey to find the “Good Samaritan” talked about by Jesus, in His famous parable. They traveled through the Middle East interviewing Muslim leaders from Hezbollah, Hamas and others, asking hard questions about Jesus’ teachings concerning loving our enemies.

I’ve traveled through Israel and I’ve had conversations with Christians, Jews and Arabs, both living in Israel and Palestine, so this book was fascinating to me. I’ve walked places where Jesus walked and sat on the hillside where Jesus gave the famous “Sermon on the Mount.” His teachings concerning loving our neighbors as ourselves and loving our enemies was just as revolutionary then as it is now. But it is just as hard. Imagine, in Jesus’ time, Samaritans were looked at by the Jews much the same way Muslims are looked at by Christians today. Are we, as believers in Christ, capable of loving our enemies? Tea with Hezbollah posed that same question to the Muslim leaders, and the answers were eye opening.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who can read with their eyes opened. What I mean is that you have to be willing to learn what people are thinking, whether or not you agree with them. Just because you hear them out doesn’t mean you are condoning what they do.

–royb

Click here to buy this book at Random House.

In the honor of full disclosure, I was given a copy of this book by the Publisher, WaterBrook Multnomah, to read and review.

Summary:

Is it really possible to love one’s enemies?
That’s the question that sparked a fascinating and, at times, terrifying journey into the heart of the Middle East during the summer of 2008. It was a trip that began in Egypt, passed beneath the steel and glass high rises of Saudi Arabia, then wound through the bullet- pocked alleyways of Beirut and dusty streets of Damascus, before ending at the cradle of the world’s three major religions: Jerusalem.

Tea with Hezbollah
combines nail-biting narrative with the texture of rich historical background, as readers join novelist Ted Dekker and his co-author and Middle East expert, Carl Medearis, on a hair-raising journey. They are with them in every rocky cab ride, late-night border crossing, and back-room conversation as they sit down one-on-one with some of the most notorious leaders of the Arab world. These candid discussions with leaders of Hezbollah and Hamas, with muftis, sheikhs, and ayatollahs, with Osama bin Laden’s brothers, reveal these men to be real people with emotions, fears, and hopes of their own. Along the way, Dekker and Medearis discover surprising answers and even more surprising questions that they could not have anticipated—questions that lead straight to the heart of Middle Eastern conflict.
Through powerful narrative Tea With Hezbollah will draw the West into a completely fresh understanding of those we call our enemies and the teaching that dares us to love them. A must read for all who see the looming threat rising in the Middle East.

Author Bios:

Ted Dekker is the author of many nationally bestselling novels, including Bone Man’s Daughters, The Circle Trilogy, Thr3e, and House, which was coauthored by Frank Peretti. His unique style of storytelling has captured the attention of millions worldwide. Visit him at TedDekker.com.

Carl Medearis is the founder and president of International Initiatives, LLC, an organization that promotes cultural, educational, and commercial exchange between the East and the West. He is an advisor on Arab affairs to the members of the U.S. Congress and leaders in international business.

31 December 2009 ~ 0 Comments

Book Review: Fit to Be Tied by Robin Lee Hatcher

It’s 1916, and Idaho rancher Cleo Arlington knows everything about horses but nothing about men. So when charged with transforming English aristocrat Sherwood Statham from playboy into cowboy, she’s totally disconcerted. So is Statham, who’s never encountered a woman succeeding in a “man’s world.” Their bumpy trot into romance is frustrating, exhilarating, and ultimately heartwarming.

My Review:

I liked this book, Fit to Be Tied, by Robin Lee Hatcher, very much. It was interesting watching such two different people come together –an English aristocrat meets cowgirl in Idaho.

Lord Sherwood, the English Aristocrat, was sent to America as punishment by his father, the Duke of Dunacombe, for being a drunk gambler and womanizer. He ends up on a ranch in Idaho run by a Christian family. He and Cleo, the ranchers daughter who is independent, hard-headed, and all tomboy, do not get along very well. As you can imagine, some interesting times are ahead.

by Guest Reviewer and avid reader: Angie Troutman

This is the second book in the series, The Sisters of Bethlehem Springs, with the third one coming out next year. If you are fan of Hatcher, this book will not disappoint; and will leave you anxious for the third one.

You can buy this book here

Click here for more reviews of Fit to Be Tied at Amazon.com

Author
Click for more information about Robin Lee HatcherRobin Lee Hatcher (www.robinleehatcher.com) is the author of sixty novels, including A Vote of Confidence, When Love Blooms, Wagered Heart, Return to Me, and Catching Katie, named one of the Best Books of 2004 by Library Journal.

A Note:

I was given this book by Zondervan to review. Even though I really enjoyed it, I just wanted to be honest and up front.

royb

20 December 2009 ~ 0 Comments

Book Review: Primal by Mark Batterson

I’ve read Mark Batterson’s other two books, and his newest book, Primal, is a masterpiece as well. Batterson has a remarkable way of communicating a deep truth in a way that we can all identify.

His passion is infectious and his insight is incredible. In Primal, Mark Batterson takes us on a journey back to the beginning of the Christian Faith:

Over the last two thousand years, Christianity has evolved in lots of ways. We’ve come out of the catacombs and built majestic cathedrals with all the bells and steeples. Theologians have given us creeds and canons. Churches have added pews and pulpits, hymnals and organs, committees and liturgies. And the IRS has given us 501(c)(3) status. And there is nothing inherently wrong with any of those things. But none of those things is primal. And almost like the Roman effect of building things on top of things, I wonder if the accumulated layers of Christian traditions and institutions have unintentionally obscured what lies beneath.

…When all of the superficialities are stripped away, what is
the primal essence of Christianity?

In the pages that follow, I want to descend that flight of stairs with you. I want
us to go underground. I want us to go back in time. Think of it as a quest for the
lost soul of Christianity. And by the time you reach the last page, I hope you will
have done more than rediscover Christianity in its most primal form. I hope you will
have gone back to the primal faith you once had. Or more accurately, the primal faith
that once had you.

Mark Batterson challenges us to get back to the roots of our faith. What is it that Christianity is all about? What do we really believe and why? What are we passionate about?

This book will absolutely challenge you to evaluate your faith, and will ultimately help facilitate a revolution in your life.

–royb

You can buy it here, at Amazon.com.

16 December 2009 ~ 0 Comments

PRIMAL by Mark Batterson

image I have received a copy of the book Primal, by Mark Batterson, and am in the process of reading it. If it is anything like his last two, In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day and Wild Goose Chase, I’ll have a lot to talk about. Give me a couple of more days to finish it and put my thoughts together then I’ll post the review and a link to Amazon so you can get your own copy.

royb

16 December 2009 ~ 0 Comments

Book Review: Thirsty, by Tracey Bateman & Touched by a Vampire, by Beth Felker Jones

clip_image001There’s no place like home, they say.
“Hello, I’m Nina Parker…and I’m an alcoholic.”
For Nina, it’s not the weighty admission but the first steps toward recovery that prove most difficult. She must face her ex-husband, Hunt, with little hope of making amends, and try to rebuild a relationship with her angry teenage daughter, Meagan. Hardest of all, she is forced to return to Abbey Hills, Missouri, the hometown she abruptly abandoned nearly two decades earlier–and her unexpected arrival in the sleepy Ozark town catches the attention of someone–or something–igniting a two-hundred-fifty-year-old desire that rages like a wildfire.
Unaware of the darkness stalking her, Nina is confronted with a series of events that threaten to unhinge her sobriety. Her daughter wants to spend time with the parents Nina left behind. A terrifying event that has haunted Nina for almost twenty years begins to surface. And an alluring neighbor initiates an unusual friendship with Nina, but is Markus truly a kindred spirit or a man guarding dangerous secrets?
As everything she loves hangs in the balance, will Nina’s feeble grasp on her demons be broken, leaving her powerless against the thirst? The battle between redemption and obsession unfold to its startling, unforgettable end.

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9780307457158

EXAMINING TWILIGHT THROUGH A BIBLICAL LENSclip_image001[4]
People around the world are asking the same question, enraptured with Edward and Bella’s forbidden romance in the Twilight Saga, a four-book serial phenomenon written by Stephenie Meyer. The bestsellers tell the story of a regular girl’s relationship with a vampire who has chosen to follow his “good” side. But the Saga isn’t just another fantasy–it’s teaching girls about love, sex, and purpose. With 48 million copies in print and a succession of upcoming blockbuster films, now is the time to ask the important question: Can vampires teach us about God’s plan for love?
Touched by a Vampire is the first book to investigate the themes of the Twilight Saga from a Biblical perspective. Some Christian readers have praised moral principles illustrated in the story, such as premarital sexual abstinence, which align with Meyer’s Mormon beliefs. But ultimately, Beth Felker Jones examines whether the story’s redemptive qualities outshine its darkness.
Cautionary, thoughtful, and challenging, Touched by a Vampire is written for Twilight fans, parents, teachers, and pop culture enthusiasts. It includes an overview of the series for those unfamiliar with the storyline and a discussion guide for small groups.

You Can Buy it Here

26 October 2009 ~ 0 Comments

Book Review: Shadow Government by Grant R. Jeffrey

imageI don’t even know where to begin except to say, “Wow, I didn’t know that.” Shadow Government, by Grant R. Jeffrey, is a book that will have you calling all of your friends to let them know what you are reading. Also, you will call your spouse and tell them to make sure they are careful when emailing, calling, texting, or simply talking on the phone –because you never know who is listening.

Shadow Government takes you deep into the world of surveillance cameras, financial transactions and RFID chips hidden in the stuff you buy –so companies can track who bought it and what was bought. Sound like something out of a movie? That’s what I thought too, but boy was I naive.

 

Grant R. Jeffrey not only details –and I do mean details— how phones, security cameras and computers are used to track us, but what the implications are for the future. I can safely say I have altered how and what I say online since reading this book.

For example:

“Most people are not aware that a microscopic RFID chip hidden in an article of clothing, a book, or any other consumer product can enable the retailer, the product’s manufacturer, and even an intelligence or police agency to track the product and you, the purchaser. If you buy a product with an embedded RFID chip, you can be tracked from the store’s checkout counter, where your identity is recorded from your credit or debit card.” (page 37)

“At the time of this writing, more than one and a half billion RFID chips are inserted in products each year, and there is no legal requirement for companies to inform consumers that a product contains an embedded RFID chip.” (page 39)

This book needs to be read; not because it will scare anyone in thinking they are being watched 24/7 –which isn’t far from the truth some places on earth—but because understanding where technology is today will help all of us make smart choices about how we communicate and how we purchase goods and services.

Also, after reading this book, it will be easier to understand how the Anti-Christ can one day police an entire planet at one time. That got your attention didn’t it?

You can purchase this book at Random House by clicking here.

royb

26 October 2009 ~ 2 Comments

Book Review: Wisdom Hunter by Randall Arthur

imageI’ve seen legalism in churches. I’ve seen people so caught up in the little, trivial things that they can’t see how it is affecting them and those around them. I know of a lady who wouldn’t sing worship songs because they were on the “wall” and not being read out of a hymnal. I’m not joking. What does this have to do with a book review? Everything.

The main character in Wisdom Hunter, by Randall Arthur, is a pastor who is very legalistic –and runs his church and family that way. And because of this, he finds himself alone, searching for answers –answers to questions he thought he’d figured out long ago.

Pastor Jason Faircloth sets out on a search for not only his lost family, but for his very soul. His travels, which span the globe, takes him to places most of us can only dream about. But through it all, Jason realizes that God has not only “not” forgotten him, but that his faith is being restored; a real faith, not one based on rules and regulations, but a faith based on the love of Christ and Him crucified.

I’ll have to admit, I didn’t know what to expect when I started this book. But about two-thirds of the way through, I was reading as fast as I could just so I could see how it ended –and I was not disappointed. The author does an excellent job of allowing us to see the inner thoughts and ramblings of a man who, in his late forties, has to start over, not only with his life but also with his faith. We are luckily let in on this roller coaster of a ride, both spiritually and emotionally.

I highly recommend this book for everyone. Whether you like drama, suspense, or love stories, this book is for you.

You Can Buy Wisdom Hunter Here (Random House)

royb

22 September 2009 ~ 0 Comments

Book Review: You Were Born For This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles

clip_image001His New York Times phenomenon The Prayer of Jabez changed how millions pray. Now Bruce Wilkinson wants to change what they do next.

Anyone can do a good deed, but some good works can only happen by a direct intervention from God. Around the world these acts are called miracles—not that even religious people expect to see one any time soon. But what would happen if millions of ordinary people walked out each morning expecting God to deliver a miracle through them to a person in need? You Were Born for This starts with the dramatic premise that everyone at all times is in need of a miracle, and that God is ready to meet those needs supernaturally through ordinary people who are willing to learn the “protocol of heaven.”

In the straightforward, story-driven, highly motivating style for which he is known, Wilkinson describes how anyone can be a “Delivery Guy” from heaven in such universally significant arenas of life as finances, practical help, relationships, purpose, and spiritual growth.

You Were Born for This will change how readers see their world, and what they expect God can do through them to meet real needs. They will master seven simple tools of service, and come to say with confidence, “I want to deliver a supernatural gift from God to someone in need today—and I expect to!”

You Were Born For This Can Be Purchased at Amazon.com

Author Bios:

One of the world’s foremost Christian teachers, Bruce Wilkinson is best known as the author of the New York Times #1 bestseller The Prayer of Jabez. He is also the author of numerous other bestsellers, including A Life God Rewards, Secrets of the Vine, and The Dream Giver. Over the past three decades, Wilkinson has founded several global initiatives, including organizations that recruited and trained thousands of Americans to address hunger, AIDS, and poverty in Africa. Bruce and his wife, Darlene, have three children and six grandchildren. They live outside Atlanta.

David Kopp has collaborated with Bruce Wilkinson on over a dozen bestselling books, including The Prayer of Jabez. He is an editor and writer living in Colorado.

22 September 2009 ~ 1 Comment

Book Review: If God is Good: Faith in the Midst of Suffering and Evil

clip_image001Every one of us will experience suffering. Many of us are experiencing it now. As we have seen in recent years, evil is real in our world, present and close to each one of us.
In such difficult times, suffering and evil beg questions about God–Why would an all-good and all-powerful God create a world full of evil and suffering? And then, how can there be a God if suffering and evil exist?
These are ancient questions, but also modern ones as well. Atheists such as Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens, and even former believers like Bart Ehrman answer the question simply: The existence of suffering and evil proves there is no God.
In this captivating new book, best-selling author Randy Alcorn challenges the logic of disbelief, and brings a fresh, realistic, and thoroughly biblical insight to the issues these important questions raise.
Alcorn offers insights from his conversations with men and women whose lives have been torn apart by suffering, and yet whose faith in God burns brighter than ever. He reveals the big picture of who God is and what God is doing in the world–now and forever. And he equips you to share your faith more clearly and genuinely in this world of pain and fear.
As he did in his best-selling book, Heaven, Randy Alcorn delves deep into a profound subject, and through compelling stories, provocative questions and answers, and keen biblical understanding, he brings assurance and hope to all.

You Can Buy it Here, Amazon.com

Author Bio:

Randy Alcorn is the founder and director of Eternal Perspectives Ministries and a bestselling author. His novels include Deadline, Dominion, Edge of Eternity, Lord Foulgrin’s Letters, The Ishbane Conspiracy, and the Gold Medallion winner, Safely Home. He has written eighteen nonfiction books as well, including Heaven, The Treasure Principle, The Purity Principle, and The Grace and Truth Paradox. Randy and his wife, Nanci, live in Oregon and have two married daughters and four grandsons.

royb

21 September 2009 ~ 0 Comments

Kiss Me Again: Restoring Lost Intimacy in Marriage Book Review

Kiss Me AgainIf you’ve  ever wondered why God says not to have sex before we are married, Kiss Me Again: Restoring Lost Intimacy In Marriage, by Barbara Wilson,  answers your question,  and it addresses all the obstacles women face when they decide not to wait for marriage before they have their first sexual experience. In Song of Songs 2:7, we are instructed not to “awaken love until the time is right”. Why? Because there is an actual Invisible Bond that forms when two people share a sexual encounter.

The whole gist of the book is why women, who couldn’t resist sex before they were married, now that they have tied the knot, don’t want to anymore. It talks about why that happens and what to do about it. The thing that struck me the most is the fact that there is an actual reason for it. It is something that is fixable, women don’t have to live that way.

She uses actual real-life examples. Kiss Me Again addresses different problems or obstacles that women face in their sexual relationship with their husbands and gives steps for women to follow in order to allow God to begin the healing process.

It talks about the bonds that occur when two people have sex and how it affects the marriage later on. It isn’t just an emotional bond, it is a chemical bond that can bring serious, unneeded, baggage into a marriage.

No matter what is in your sexual past, God can heal your wounds and restore you marriage. God can heal the sexual issues you are struggling with in marriage. He can reignite your desire and deepen your emotional bond with your husband. (Barbara Wilson)

I recommend this book for anyone who has the desire for a deeper “physical and emotional closeness with their mates.”

In Kiss Me Again, Wilson:

·         Shares her own story of healing and renewed desire

·         Helps women forgive themselves and their husbands for past choices

·         Shows readers how to break free from “invisible bonds”

·         Explains God’s plan for helping a husband and wife to re-bond

·         Includes conversation helps for both wives and their husbands

·         Helps couples reignite the passion that they thought was lost

Barbara Wilson is the author of The Invisible Bond and former director of sexual health education for the Alternatives Pregnancy Resource Center in Sacramento. She speaks nationwide to youth and adults with her message of sexual healing, and she teaches frequently in the women’s ministry at the multi-campus Bayside Church in Northern California. Barbara and her husband, Eric, have been married for twenty-eight years.